One month back…back to reality

It has been a month now since we returned, and things have changed significantly for me. Moving into a new house, starting a new job, a new semester at school…all adds up to a little bit of chaos. It has been nice from the standpoint that I haven’t really had time to go through the re-entry that Mike spoke about in his blog post. At the same time, it isn’t exactly positive as I have had little time to process and evaluate the experience. I think there are a couple of major takeaways that I have tried to be mindful of, but at the same time, it isn’t always easy.

Gratitude and Graciousness

Everyone we met was so gracious and grateful. It is difficult to put into words just how impactful this was. We met quite a few people who had very little, but wanted to give of themselves. People with very little money who barely let us leave there homes without having tea, or something to eat. As caught up as we can be in our own lives, I have made a conscious effort to embody this attitude and remember to be grateful for that which I have and to demonstrate that to others.

Flexibility

Things in India don’t always go as planned. It almost feels like things are planned just to be changed. It is a wholly surreal experience to ask someone about how things are going to go and be told something very earnestly. Whether or not the plan will come to fruition is an entirely different situation. To keep your wits about you, you have to stay flexible. I am working to keep that in mind while back here as well. Especially considering the trifecta of newness I am going through flexibility is imperative. I am trying to keep this in mind as I go through experiencing the new aspects of my life. This is something that has been important over the last few weeks, and I am staying mindful of the value of flexibility when changes come my way.

Thank you everyone for being a part of the experience, it is something I will never forget.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

