Go For Launch – at last…

… I am underway!

Sitting in Portland International Airport on a clear Saturday morning, the sun just peeking through the clouds, I am elated. I made it; I’m going to India!

A good friend of mine has a great way of acknowledging and overcoming complex situations with one deft line: “there are a lot of moving parts here”. For a non-US citizen applying for an entry visa to India while residing in the US, the parts were many, and they moved in ways I didn’t know existed.

I didn’t know if I’d get there at all, let alone get there on time. Fortunately it all worked out and while I will arrive a couple days late, I will arrive. It helped a lot to focus on my Circle of Influence, knowing what I can control and what I can’t. I can plot my course and keep my sails trimmed right, keep a keen eye out and adjust when I need to, but at the end of the day there are so many other factors at play beyond my Circle of Influence that help to get me to my intended destination.

I think the whole ‘pre-adventure’ has set me up well for this voyage to India. It makes life more uncertain, but all the more wondrous as well. I’m cool with that.

IMAG0243

Setting sail for India, across the mighty Pacific Ocean to immerse myself in a civilization 100 times older than New Zealand, my home. We travel light, but no orc-hunting today!

4 thoughts on “Go For Launch – at last…

  1. Simon, I wish I could have been a fly on the wall when the consulate officer affixed your Indian visa to your passport. As you embrace uncertainty, know one thing for certain: upon your arrival in Bhimavaram you will be warmly welcomed.

  2. This is too close to home. My wife, an Indian citizen and U.S. permanent resident, is applying for a New Zealand visa from India, where we’re currently visiting. Here’s a small example of the bizarre nature of the process: the second question during her interview, after they asked her name: “Was yours’ a love marriage or an arranged marriage?”

  3. I am so happy to hear you are on your way! I was so impressed and proud of your positive, laid back attitude through all of the trials you went through leading up to this trip. Best wishes for a great experience! All my best…

Leave a Reply

