Confronting in Consulting

For our last four days in Hyderabad, Kate, Slater, and I worked with the CARE Rural Health Mission, a non-profit organization which is one of the CARE Foundation’s outreach delivery models for bringing quality treatment and services “to everyone’s doorstep”.  Our contacts, Girish and Prasanth, were incredibly helpful in spelling out what exactly CRHM does in the greater context of the CARE group.  Taking an incredibly complex topic and making it more clear and tangible was an instrumental first step before understanding the scope of our project and hitting the field to begin our primary research.

Earlier this summer, I was on an extended rafting trip during which someone cut himself on a rock rather badly.  I immediately looked away from his foot, let the other two step in to play nurse.  The only “care” I was capable of providing was to ask him if he needed a beer.  This kind of scenario is not unusual for me.  I am generally uncomfortable with most situations involving illness and/or blood. 

So, unsurprisingly healthcare has never been an area which I have naturally gravitated toward in study.   Frankly, I have avoided it.  With both my initial placement in the Byrraju Health Program group and my successive placement in the CARE healthcare group, I was worried what that would entail and whether I could handle it.  Although we were not exposed to anything remotely daunting or grisly during our trips to the clinics, it was still a great experience to go beyond my comfort zone.

But, I digress.  This project has been so eye opening with respect to both systemic and cultural factors at work which create such a barrier to instilling the importance of health education and preventative care in India.  Moving forward, in the next month of completing research on this project, I hope that our group can contribute some meaningful and actionable strategic plans for helping to chip away at this unfortunate trend.

One thought on “Confronting in Consulting

  1. Michelle, I really appreciate your candor about your discomfort with illness and/or blood. As I was reading your post, it reminded me of the question that was posed during reflection time one day: What are the stories we tell ourselves about our limits and what we need to operate optimally?

Leave a Reply

